You are essentially just tagging photos as being in a certain album, and the "Camera Roll" is always the view of all photos taken with the camera on the device.
You can, but they stay in the central photo roll.
They stay in the "Photo Library", not the "Camera Roll", which is meant to hold just the photos you've taken since your last sync to iPhoto.