"Each message expires after a specific time you've set, either 1, 3, 5 or 10 seconds. When time runs out, the message disappears from the app."
Sure it disappears from the app, but the message probably stays on Facebook's servers for the rest of your life. Then someday in the future Facebook will probably change their privacy settings suddenly (on purpose or accidentally) and all your messages will appear on your timeline for everyone to see.