Because the value of the site is in the user data. Even before they went public, they asked that people deleting accounts don’t delete their posts/comments before leaving, to avoid broken conversation threads.
A similar on this very site too, of course.
You can. But it's a more manual process. Under gdpr you can request total deletion of your data