This really messes with the way I work with images. I'll open base prototypes and start playing with changes not knowing at that point if I'll want to save them or not. If I end up keeping them, at that point I'd save as a new file. Seems like auto-save should be app level preferences that should be able to be turned off. I don't want to duplicate a file every time I want to do some experimentation!