Saw this before. The key words are....annualized and revenue.
They did not report mobile quarterly figures or costs and profits.
But. we can extrapolate:
$2.5 Billion annualized == $625 million quarterly mobile revenue.
Elsewhere in the earnings report:
$10 Billion total quarterly revenue
One of the costs broken out was TAC (Traffic Acquisition Costs,) -- these were $.25 for each $1 of revenue.
Assuming that TAC costs are consistent across mobile and non-mobile that means:
quarterly mobile revenue - TAC == $470 million
ANAICT, Gross margins were 40% of revenue - TAC
quarterly gross mobile profit == $188 million
No figures were given, so let's assume that 50% of mobile comes from Android phones (50 % from iPhones and all other smart phones)
quarterly gross mobile profit from Android == $94 million
No direct expenses/costs were given for mobile, Android development, etc.
If we assume Google has 10 people on the Android team @ $100,000 each, per year (Pay, office, equipment, benefits, etc.) or $.25 million per quarter
That would leave:
Android quarterly profit before taxes == $93.75 million
Obviously, these are just SWAG estimates (and I hope my math and logic are correct) -- but they are an attempt to put in context the headline of this article"
---------
Google announces $2.5 billion in mobile revenue/run rate == $93.75 million Android quarterly profit after taxes (30%)
$93.75 Million quarterly profits from Android is peanuts. Apple earns more selling smart covers.