So you don't at all address whether the problem is hard, and instead deflect completely.
The wifi thing is just a silly example. The wifi is required to do fast start GPS. 99.99999999% of their users probably don't want slow start GPS. If you do, sure, it's no longer the app for you. Yes, they are optimizing for the customers they want and giving them a good experience . I'm not sure exactly how this is something abnormal. Like, you are basically complaining they won't add knobs for you. That's pretty standard in good products - but also means if the knobs they aren't what you want, it's not a good fit for you.
I got the email in the latter, and that is a super weird take. They had one control for literally everything, which was owned by admins. They almost certainly got complaints that turning it off it made search suggestions not work in sheets/docs/etc.
So they introduced a new separate control for that, and made it controllable by the user. Because it's controllable by the user, it also means the admin can't see the doc search history of the user, only the user can. Nor can they delete your history for you - only you can control it. Your auto-delete preferences, etc apply to it.
None of this seems bad or horrible to me. The only thing even worth picking a bone about is whether the new setting should take it's default from the old setting or not. There are issues in there of course, because as mentioned, before admins could turn it on/off for everyone - and this led to lots of complaints. do you take the admin setting? Do you take the setting the user had if it hadn't been overridden by the admin? etc
The claim, in that story, i that it is forced on by default even if you had it off. This claim is wrong, afaict.
It was not worth wading into that clear firestorm of a thread.
The support doc clearly says:
"If you disabled Web & App Activity in the Admin console, it is turned off for Google Workspace users. Users can turn it on if they want."
IE if the admin had it disabled, it will be turned off.
It also says if you had it disabled yourself, it will default to off.
It goes through this quite clearly if you click "what if i had it disabled" and "what happens if i don't do anything".
Overall presenting this as "re-enable tracking that was manually/intentionally disabled by users" is a real stretch.