They might mean things like having all their file type associations wiped out because feature updates insist on doing that, rather than literally having their profile destroyed.
Then again, I've seen Windows do weirder things.
Then again, I've seen Windows do weirder things.
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/all/update...
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/all/update...
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/all/window...
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/all/window...
and numerous others.
Why does it happen? I have no idea, and probably Microsoft doesn't either. Nevertheless, it means the update process is broken. After such a case you may feel like you have the alternative of either running unsecure system or losing your data, so you may even consider the first option. Except you can't unless you pay for the Enterprise version.