Mostly because you've entered into an agreement with the first party (however dubious, that's another argument) and have consented to their terms to use their platform. There wasn't a checkbox that said "I consent to third parties storing all of my information after we decide to shutdown the platform".
Consent is paramount to privacy, and archiving everything without consent is a breaking a huge privacy and trust boundary.