So to address "confusion" with this, they're going to leave users with two separate copies of all their photos which no longer sync so that when you think you deleted a photo you might find it in your account again somewhere else later...
I don't feel like this is a solution that adequately addresses user confusion, but rather arbitrarily introduces it.