No, previously if you logged in sync was enabled - TFA and googles own privacy policy explain this quite clearly.
I remember because it bothered me to have to wipe my passwords from some random pc I was using just because I wanted my bookmarks.
> This will sign you out of your Google accounts.
And sure enough, it signs you out of gmail and the browser. So it's sign in to the browser, or no gmail for you.