I don't know if they've fixed this, or if was just me not working the phone right, but Disney's park maps kept tracking when the app was closed.
> in iOS 11, users will be able to choose the “when in use” option at all times [when asked for permission to use their location]
Closed or in the background?
I was under the impression (in iOS 10 and earlier), that "Always" meant anytime the app was open, and "While in use" is only when the app is in the foreground. So if an app has "Always" on for its Location Services, it will stop tracking when I swipe up and quit it.
If I've been incorrect this whole time, please pass the tinfoil.