On my Time Machine preferences pane it says 'Notify after old backups are deleted'. I read this to imply if TM decided it needed a monstrous amount of extra storage and decided it needed to delete a lot (or all) of the old backups, there wouldn't be any notification until they were gone. I don't see any option to notify before deleting them; perhaps a confirm option there would have been useful?