That has always been a config setting that should absolutely be turned off.
Is it default? I remember seeing the screencast when it was first gaining traction and immediately dismissing it. That should be something that isn't even included tbh.
I think the benefits it provides outweighs the slight chance that someone would ship code to production with it turned on.
I agree. It has been extremely useful during development