My understanding was that despite "permanently deleting" if you go back and sign up it'll all magically restore.
No, that's only if you "delete" your account through the settings menu. If you fill out the form in the link it's permanent.
I believe he is referring to that if you delete your account, it will appear deleted. However, you can sign in again during some specified "grace" period to undelete it.