Seriously, I don't think it should be that hard to purge user data, unless it has already been assimilated/linked to other user statistics.
When I delete my account, any files (photos) I have uploaded are deleted. I don't care if I tagged someone in another photo which I didn't upload, it's their name there, not mine. If a message I sent is in someone's inbox, I obviously don't have any control (actually it depends, but let's take it this way).
It's like if I deleted my email account, I expect my inbox to be deleted, not an email I sent, which is in someone elses inbox.