I can imagine why it is so hard to roll back to your old account once you leave a team. It might be best for companies to advise their employees to create separate dropbox account before joining a team.
I originally signed up into our dropbox team account with my personal account. At some point dropbox emailed me and effectively said "hey, not a great idea to have your personal account merged with your team account." They had an interface for me to select which files were personal files and split those back out into my personal account. Overall it was a pretty smooth process, since at the time I had pretty much accepted that there was no going back.
I have never received such an email. I totally did not see it coming when my account was deleted.
If it's hard it's due to bad design. It could've been possible.
But good design is hard too.
Bad design most likely. Looking more carefully at the link in the initial email they sent you: 'confirm_migrate?'. This almost gives it away.
I didn't even notice that until now, and definitely not when I originally clicked the link :)
I feel for you. Internet hugs!
It may be due to key encryption methods?
Yes, plus there is no distinction between your personal account and team's account once they are merged.
Normally I'd agree with you, but considering Dropbox uses the same private key for all storage... I don't know.