Is it a bug or a feature though? What's more common: wanting to delete a message and have it stay gone, or accidentally deleting the message you wanted to preserve? For most people the latter is more likely than the former.
There's not some alternate reality where the all of people's actions need to be automatically ctrl-Z'd on their behalf without any input.