That looks like a phishing attempt from someone using a random EC2 instance or something, but apparently it's legit. I think. Even the "heads-up" email they sent beforehand looked like phishing, so I was waiting for the actual invoice to see if they really started using that address, but even now I'm not opening these attached PDFs.
These companies tell customers to be suspicious of phishing attempts, and then they pull these stunts.
Yep. At every BigCo I've worked at, nearly all of the emails from Corporate have been indistinguishable from phishing. Sometimes, they're actual spam!
Do the executives and directors responsible for sending these messages care? No. They never do, and get super defensive and self-righteous when you show them exactly how their precious emails tick every "This message is phishing!" box in the mandatory annual phishing-detection-and-resistance training.
A week later some executive pushing the training emailed the entire company saying that it was unacceptable that nobody from engineering had logged into the training site and spun some story about regulatory requirements. After lots of back and forth they still wouldn't accept that it obviously looked like a phishing email.
Eventually when we actually did the training, it literally told us to check the From address of emails. I sometimes wonder if it was some weird kind of performance art.
“We got pwned but the entire company went through a certified phishing awareness program and we have a DPI firewall. Nothing more we could have done, we’re not liable.”
[0] ...so the payments serve the social function of enriching your buddy and improving your status in the whole favor economy thing...
Our infra guy then had to argue with them for quite a while to just email from their own domain, and that no, we're weren't going to add their cert to our DNS, and let a third party spoof us (or however that works, idk). Absolutely shocking lack of self awareness.
Title: "Expense report overdue - Please fill now"
Subject:
<empty body>
<Link to document trying it's best to look like google's attachment icon but was actually a hyperlink to a site that asked me to log in with my corporate credentials>
---
So like, obviously this is a stupid phishing email, right? Especially as at this time, I had not used my corporate card.
A few weeks later I got the finance team reaching out threatening to cancel my corporate card because I had charges on it with no corresponding expense report filed.
So on checking the charge history for the corporate card, it was the annual tax payment that all cards are charged in my country every year, and finance should have been well aware of. Of course, then the expense system initially rejected my report because I couldn't provide a receipt, as the card provider automatically deducts this charge with no manual action on the card owner's side...
Edit: nvm it seems it's not the case
Cool, get big enough, become friends with the right people and you can squat an entire name on the internet. What, you're the Nepalese Party for Marxists, you've existed for 70 years and you want to buy npm.np ? Nope, tough luck, some random dude pushes shitty javascript packages over there. Sorry for the existing npm.org address too, we're going to expropriate the National Association of Pastoral Musicians. Dare I remind you that the whole left-pad situation was because Kik, the company, stole (with NPM's assistance because they were big enough and friends with the right people) the kik package ?
At least they're paying dozens of millions to buy a shitty ass .google that noone cares about because more and more browsers are hiding the URL bar. I'm glad ICANN can use it to buy drinks, hookers instead of being useful.
And then never even did anything with it.
I think you and I have drastically different ideas about how dramatic a response is warranted by the scenario of needing to buy a domain with a different three letters or maybe even four or more letters before the TLD.
> Dare I remind you that the whole left-pad situation was because Kik, the company, stole (with NPM's assistance because they were big enough and friends with the right people) the kik package ?
...and then the package was entirely removed, which would have been preventable by sane policies around making removal just not allow new dependencies to use it. You're also conflating a resource that's ostensibly free and perpetual for people to claim with one that's only rented for fixed periods of time for money.
I agree that especially larger players should be proactive and register all similar-sounding TLDs to mitigate such phishing attacks, but they can't be outright prevented this way.
You can't protect against people clicking links in emails in this way. You might say `npmjs-help.ph` is a phishy domain, but npmjs.help is a phishy domain and people clicked it anyway.
Domain: NPMJS.HELP (85 similar domains)
Registrar: Porkbun, LLC (4.84 million domains)
Query Time: 8 Sep 2025 - 4:14 PM UTC [1 DAY BACK] [REFRESH]
Registered: 5th September 2025 [4 days back]
Expiry: 5th September 2026 [11 months, 25 days left]
I'd be suspicious of anything registered with Porkbun discount registrar. 4 days ago, means it's fake.> It sets a deadline a few days in the future. This creates a sense of urgency, and when you combine urgency with being rushed by life, you are much more likely to fall for the phishing link.
Any time I feel like I'm being rushed, I check deeper. It would help if everyone's official communications only came from the most well known domain (or subdomain).
Heuristics like this one should be performed automatically by the email client.