---
## 1. Are all of Britain’s electricity suppliers private companies?
*Yes, all major electricity suppliers in Great Britain are privately owned.* There are no significant government-owned electricity supply companies currently operating for households or businesses. The exception was *Robin Hood Energy*, a publicly owned non-profit launched by Nottingham City Council in 2015—but it is no longer active as a general supplier.([Wikipedia][1])
---
## 2. Major Electricity Suppliers in Great Britain: Ownership & Revenues
Let's focus on the biggest players as of mid-2025, per multiple market sources:
As of *June 2025*, the top six energy suppliers in Great Britain (by market share) are: *Octopus Energy, British Gas (Centrica), E.ON Next, OVO Energy, EDF Energy, ScottishPower*.([Uswitch][2])
These are all private companies—some British, some subsidiaries of foreign energy groups.
Here’s what we know about each:
---
### *Octopus Energy*
* *Ownership*: Part of Octopus Group, an asset management company. Private company.([Wikipedia][3]) * *2024 Revenue*: £12.4 billion (2023: £13 billion).([Wikipedia][3])
### *British Gas (Centrica)*
* *Ownership*: Owned by Centrica, a British publicly listed (but privately held) energy company. * *Revenue*: Centrica group generated substantial revenue; British Gas alone had operating profit of £159 million for six months to June (annualized). Estimated Centrica revenue \~£26.5 billion.([The Times][4], [Wikipedia][3], [Yahoo Finance][5])
### *E.ON Next*
* *Ownership*: Subsidiary of the German energy group E.ON. * *Revenue*: E.ON UK revenue was around *£5.8 billion* in 2017. More recent figures aren’t in cited sources.([Wikipedia][6], [ibisworld.org][7])
### *OVO Energy*
* *Ownership*: British-based private company (founded 2009). Increased scale via acquisitions (e.g., SSE Energy Services).([Uswitch][2], [The Scottish Sun][8]) * *Revenue*: Not specified in sources, but likely in low-billions given size.
### *EDF Energy*
* *Ownership*: Wholly owned by the French state-owned utility EDF (Électricité de France).([Wikipedia][9]) * *Revenue*: Around *£8.72 billion* in 2021.([Wikipedia][9])
### *ScottishPower*
* *Ownership*: Owned by Spanish utility group Iberdrola.([The Standard][10], [The Scottish Sun][8]) * *Revenue*: About *£6.58 billion* (per Statista's figures for ScottishPower).([Statista][11])
---
## Summary Table
| Supplier | Owner | Approx. Revenue | | -------------- | ----------------------------- | ---------------------------------- | | Octopus Energy | Octopus Group (private) | £12.4 bn (2024) | | British Gas | Centrica (publicly listed UK) | \~£26 bn (group) | | E.ON Next | E.ON (German multinational) | \~£5.8 bn (2017 data) | | OVO Energy | Private UK company | Not publicly reported (\~£bn est.) | | EDF Energy | EDF (French state-owned) | £8.72 bn (2021) | | ScottishPower | Iberdrola (Spanish utility) | £6.58 bn (circa 2025) |
---
### Additional Context
* The overall electricity supply industry in the UK had an estimated total revenue of *£49.7 bn in 2024*, with projections of decline ahead.([ibisworld.org][7]) * There are also various smaller, challenger suppliers active in the market (e.g., Utilita, Ecotricity, Good Energy, etc.), all private as well.([Confused][12], [Uswitch][2])
---
## In Conclusion
* *Yes*, all major electricity suppliers in Great Britain are privately owned. * The top six are *Octopus Energy, British Gas (Centrica), E.ON Next, OVO Energy, EDF Energy*, and *ScottishPower*. * Owners range from UK corporations to foreign multinational or state-owned groups. * Revenues vary significantly, from around £6–12 bn for many to £26 bn for Centrica group.
---
Let me know if you'd like details on smaller suppliers or more granular data (like profitability or customer numbers)!
[1]: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robin_Hood_Energy?utm_source=c... "Robin Hood Energy" [2]: https://www.uswitch.com/gas-electricity/guides/big-six-energ... "Big six energy suppliers in the UK - Uswitch" [3]: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Octopus_Energy?utm_source=chat... "Octopus Energy" [4]: https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/b21oct-3ghb0l23h?utm_sour... "The 'secret sauce' that helped Octopus take on British Gas" [5]: https://finance.yahoo.com/news/10-biggest-energy-companies-u... "10 Biggest Energy Companies in the UK" [6]: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/E.ON_UK?utm_source=chatgpt.com "E.ON UK" [7]: https://www.ibisworld.org/united-kingdom/industry/electricit... "Electricity Supply in the UK - Market Research Report (2014-2029)" [8]: https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/money/15004584/energy-giant... "Energy giant with 5million customers in merger talks to create UK's 3rd BIGGEST gas & electricity supplier" [9]: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/EDF_Energy?utm_source=chatgpt.... "EDF Energy" [10]: https://www.standard.co.uk/news/uk/british-gas-centrica-prof... "Who owns the major energy and water suppliers, and how much profit do they make? | The Standard" [11]: https://www.statista.com/topics/4935/big-six-in-the-uk/?utm_... "Big Six in the UK - statistics & facts | Statista" [12]: https://www.confused.com/gas-electricity/guides/big-six-ener... "Who are the Big Six energy companies in the UK in 2024? - Confused.com"