They should have provided clear notification on the next login with a link to the details of the implementation. I recall no such action occurring in anyway.
If they announced such a change properly, then you should not need to "think" they did so. There shouldn't be any uncertainty.
This should not be a default option. I accidently found out after reading an article in YC. So creepy.
The default will always be what supports their desired business model the most.