"Futuresearch estimates that their API business actually has ~50% gross margins, and that most of the losses come from operating costs (R&D, etc) and their ChatGPT business, which gives basically unlimited usage for ~$20/month."
I would have assumed there's more profit in the subscriptions than the API. $20 is roughly 2 million output tokens a month through the API. Given the 50% margin they claim, each user would have to be generating 3-4 million output tokens a month for OpenAI to be at a loss. Is that likely? Seems like a lot of words to me.