I think it do ask you whether you want to change the setting, except the default is nuking all your settings.
And something even more annoying is: That pops up in the OOBE of every major update. If you accidentally click "yes", your settings fxxks up. Come on, I already click "no" last time, you shouldn't even ask me again about this.