A guy who said he worked at Facebook posted a comment on HN a couple days ago claiming that data is actually deleted from disk when you delete your account (after the ~14 day waiting period for account deletion), and I think it seemed like he was implying that this may have been the ONLY time data is actually deleted rather than simply being marked deleted. Maybe someone has a link to the actual comment/context...