On the device means it's going to the server in Apple's case. The option is only enabled when you have the iCloud Photos feature enabled, which means the photos it's scanning are photos that are on their way to the cloud.
If you turn the iCloud Photos feature off, no more scanning is happening.
This seems pretty simple to me.