I thought it was a joke... =P
Note: if you cancel the login prompt, you can still browse around the site and see most of it.
Rest assured that while you you do need to connect via FB, all your activity on the app is anonymous - as either "a friend" or "a stranger" of the user you're rating/commenting on.