Delete Button. Yammer take a hint.
omarkassim.com
omarkassim.com
These features are also frequently a usability cluster flop because users are absolutely impervious to wording like "If you tell us to delete this WE CANNOT GET IT BACK."
There is compelling data with regards to the on-the-ground truth of one of these propositions.
Scott Balentine (CSM), Mar-03 10:29 am (PST): Hey Omar,
At Yammer, our relationship is with our users. All data, whether from a free or paid network, cannot be deleted by Yammer. This would violate our Terms of Service. You as an Admin of a paid account can delete any data on the network. Like you said before, the data is owned by you. Since this data was not deleted before I downgraded you, I will re-upgrade you for however long you need to delete the data in your network at no charge to you. As a paid network, no individual users will have to delete anything at all.
You can delete messages using the "Delete" link under the "More" menu at the bottom of each post.
Let me know if you need anything else.
Scott
-- Delete each message manually. Please.
Someone at my company created a Yammer network two years ago and is no longer with the company. We cannot remove her (or anyone else who left) unless we become a paying company.
As soon as I saw that, I stopped using Yammer and will never use them again.
It's like having a LinkedIn or Facebook page - you should be able to exercise some control over it, including removing it should you wish to.
"At Yammer, our relationship is with our users."
Really? Who writes you the check? I can't imagine going to any of my customers and saying, "Sorry, we don't support that because our relationship is with the people who use the software, not you, the person writing the check."
I feel your pain, but isn't it obvious though? Increase the pain of leaving and you increase the likelihood of staying. Annoying, but effective.
The delete button sets an account flag saying "this user is deleted." The front end UI honored that and no longer showed the user. A half dozen DELETE tasks were then tossed into a job queue, one for each major subsystem (cache, archival storage, etc). The visual effect of deletion was instant and within 20 minutes everything was gone.
That's an excuse, not a reason.
Time is a zero sum game. If I can make features/fixes that brings me money, why would I spend time/money/effort to design system for effectively... well, NOT make money, at the cost of the former?
You then need to choose how you explain that to users (preferably before they sign up and start entering sensitive data) as well as the normal problems of deciding the policy about having backups of "deleted" data (if you don't actually delete it - either from the live data set or from archived backups - a court could require you to hand it over).
But as a paid service - where you've been a paying customer for many months - and a service that is targeted towards corporate customers this should just be a given.
The run around about user data belonging to users and so on is just ridiculous. Yammer helped us to create a corporate network, where the data belongs to the company - so when we want to leave it should be as easy as signing up - hit delete and you're done.
It doesn't matter if their systems retain the data for a few weeks and batch delete it later.
I'm sure that if a larger customer expressed this, they would bend over backwards to accomodate. Just feels like they're screwing the little guy.
Until I read this and decide not to sign up in the first place.
With Yammer it at least makes a little sense because there's possibly sensitive business data on there.
But I built and ran a moderately successful Facebook app and people bugged us about it constantly until we built the feature, but the motivations behind wanting to delete an account just baffled (and continues to baffle) me.
Of course, we've considered this issue in the past. There's also a business reason we haven't focused on building one-click network delete: we want to protect our customer companies from irreversible damage that can be caused by deleting an entire network. Each free user can delete only their own content, since only they own their content. You can still deactivate another user, for whatever reason, but if that user has an active email account, they can reactivate. As a premium user, which gives you admin controls, you are able to delete entire user accounts with all underlying posts.
We can do a better job of communicating the process of deletion and deactivation and the role that account type plays in the process. However, currently, we aren't able to offer the one-step network delete. Please rest assured that we take data security very seriously, regardless of the type of account you have.
I'd love to hear anyone's thoughts on this.
- A Yammer Engineer.
I understand where you're coming from - I wouldn't expect this to take priority. I do however continue to think that having a delete feature / account closure feature is fundamental to any SaaS application today - especially one aimed towards businesses.
What continues to frustrate me is being told that you as Yammer are unable to actually carry out this process yourself. That doesn't make any sense to me - you have access to your servers don't you?
I think there's a gap in what Support is saying and what any slightly technical user knows is possible - even if the "feature" isn't available on the front end.
I agree - this functionality is justifiable. However, we have many things we'd like to implement, and this one wasn't prioritized for the reasons I mentioned.
I'm sorry we told you this couldn't be done. In actuality, this reached the attention of our engineers quite late. As I understand, you first spoke with our support staff, and then with our community manager, after this thread. You're right about the gap - this is theoretically possible, but it just hasn't been implemented. At all.
It's also not exactly simple: we denormalize data in lots of places, there are plenty of nasty side cases relating to inter-related networks, the data lives in many separate systems, and of course everything is backed up. Getting rid of a single network is more than just a DELETE query. This is lots of code to write and test.
I hope that helps explain our response.
If you trusted them with your data while you were using it they probably weren't expecting you to not trust them anymore once you left. Even as you delete every user by hand surely all that data is backed up somewhere?
I just think that closing your account is something more fundamental that being what we traditional think of as a 'feature'.
It's not a priority anywhere to implement batch features, even if it were the opposite---batch additions.
"If you have previously agreed to us using your personal information for direct marketing purposes, you may change your mind at any time by writing to or emailing us at marketing@albogari.com"
Case in point of building features valuable to customers and the company before those that are not. Why is there no feature on this website to unsubscribe from marketing, just as there is to subscribe? Because it's work to build one, and it doesn't have immediate benefit to the company.
On a side note, as CEO of a 35 year old international holding company - I find it odd that Omar is claiming to be the "little guy" in this thread.