I used an Android device for a short while a few years ago. I disabled all sync functionality and would back up to my own storage device.
After an OS update, all of the sync functionality was automatically enabled and everything on the device was uploaded to Google’s services anyway. So I deleted everything that was uploaded, then deleted my google account, and bought an iPhone and swore to never use a google product again — and I haven’t.