Doing a quick google search turns up this gem:
Staff - heather says: "When an account is deleted, photos and any metadata associated with account is queued and deleted. If not instantaneous, it's removed within minutes."
Doing a quick google search turns up this gem:
Staff - heather says: "When an account is deleted, photos and any metadata associated with account is queued and deleted. If not instantaneous, it's removed within minutes."
RAID is there for system interruption protection. RAID is there to keep flickr cruising along without interruption.
If they delete content from a volume covered by RAID, then all the mirrored copies go poof simultaneously.
What you are suggesting is a higher level content management system. Apparently (from the drift of the comments) that is something flickr doesn't want to get involved with.
They need to learn the mantra: "Replication is not backup, DROP DATABASE replicates pretty well.".
Of course, deleting a complete account without any means of rectifying it sounds like a very bad idea and shouldn't have been possible. At the very least there should have been red warning signs flashing when the support person deleted a pro account with 4K+ pictures in it.