You can live on products of the cow, you don't need to eat the cow. There are plenty of religious groups that are strictly vegetarian, and people have been following those diets for hundreds or thousands of years. For example Jainism followers don't eat meat or fish, and certain vegetables, but do eat cheese and other dairy products.