there was a S3 sync client that some people used that did:
aws s3 sync --delete ./ s3://your-bucket/
The delete flag was added by just a very innocuous checkbox in the UI. The result is that it removes anything not in the source directory. Kaboom. Everything's gone. The point is you have no idea what stuff is going to do even if you think it's obvious.