This wasn't always the case, by the way. Originally, "vegetarian" in the west was usually used to mean what we now call vegan.
Ovo-vegetarianism = eggs + vegetarian food. This is certainly not eggs = vegetarian.
So basically when you read "vegetarian" you can safely assume it's shorthand for "ovo-lacto-vegetarian"
Some people consider honey non-vegetarian because it comes from animals. Some don't eat the crackers shaped like goldfish. Some will eat dairy, but only if it's known to be processed without certain animal-derived additives. I once met someone who had a simple rule: he didn't eat anything with opaque eyelids.
(Personally, I just aim for 99.9% vegan and I don't worry if some sauce has a tiny bit of fish dust in it.)
Mind you, the only people I know who have eaten human placenta all classify themselves as vegan.