3% ROI for selling my iPhone app using MochiAds
andrewgarrison.com
andrewgarrison.com
All cost-per-click networks will have abysmal conversion rates for paid apps. Cost-per-install networks shift this risk from you to the network, since you only pay per install. However, paid apps advertising on straight cost-per-install networks delivers minimal volume, which makes them not worth doing - while the risk to you is gone, the conversion rate still sucks. Some cost-per-install networks (Tapzilla, Apperang) require you to pay them more than the cost of the app, so they can bribe users to install the app. This works, but it automatically results in a negative ROI on the advertising itself - since they take a cut, Apple takes a cut, and the user gets reimbursed through PayPal. If your spend isn't enough to get you onto a leaderboard and get that sweet organic traffic, you wasted your money. Right now these user-bribing networks are still small, so this is a real risk. Buy from everyone simultaneously.
Happily, there's a lot more options for free applications. If you've figured out how to make sufficient money from your users through virtual goods sales (like one YC company, Addmired, although there are many others), and therefore can afford to advertise, there's many cost-per-install options you can use to effectively buy placement - Flurry (which is mine), TapJoy, MDotM, Free App A Day, many others. Again, the prudent-but-flush developer buys from a lot of sources simultaneously to ensure their application ends up on the front page of iTunes.
Incidentally, I am not very good at AdWords.
(gain - cost) / cost = ROI
($4 - $100) / $100 = -.96
Your ROI was therefore -96% and not 3%.
Sorry to hear about your terrible returns, but thanks for sharing nonetheless.
To slightly rephrase: even without counting Apple's and LinkShare's cut, the developer would still need a 10% purchase rate just to break even (10 cents * 10 people = 1 purchase) (which is just as ridiculously high as a 20-30% conversion rate as far as I know).
I would suggest a better creative and more importantly, since you're PPC put the app's price on it so casual browsers and people who don't buy apps won't click thru - "ON SALE!! $normalprice" in one of those red starry-circle things might help a lot.
Edit: I can't claim to be an expert on mobile advertising, but it doesn't seem like traditional CPC/CPMs really work in this space. I'm on a mobile device, which means lots of accidental taps, and if I randomly click on an ad that catches my eye, chances are I'm not going to want to install the app from the app store right then and there (although I guess this also means your 4 installs could be a low stat since users might return to install the app later without going through the Linkshare affiliate link).
3% ROI isn't great from a cash perspective, but there's other benefits you're getting - those 100,000 impressions are potentially worth something for people recognizing your product later, then there's getting more reviews, potential word of mouth, etc. Also, someone that checked it out first from the ad might buy later, especially if they get repeated exposure.
The danger with such a low return is that if you're not watching carefully, you could run in the red pretty quickly and lose money. But as long as you're above break even and paying attention, your real ROI is probably a bit higher than that 3% considering the other positive effects.
Edit: Wait a minute, you got 4 sales... do you mean you spent $100 and got $3 in return? I was thinking you got $103 in return... if you're in the hole $97, that's utterly abysmal and discard the rest of my comment. No positive secondary effects gonna make up for that.