If that's really all it is, I don't really get what people are upset about. Specifically, if there's no additional data being stored connected to your account (which is what one of the devs seemed to be very explicitly claiming) until you deliberately connect Chrome to your account, this seems like a whole bunch of drama over a misunderstanding.
If I'm wrong, then that's a separate matter. Personally, I appreciate the syncing features, but I completely understand why people would be bothered, and it's definitely something they should roll back.