From the spec:
> Delegated trust can be revoked at any time by the delegating role signing new metadata that indicates the delegated role is no longer trusted.
This is a mistake, as it means that a client must receive the new metadata in order to be made aware of the revocation. The correct approach is either to delegate trust for a particular time period (determining how long is a risk-based decision), or to specify an online trust check (this fails safe).