You did, did you? Try logging in again into that Facebook account you "deleted" and see what awaits you...
After two weeks from deactivation an account is removed completely. At least it was that way in 2011.
Facebook never deletes anything. An object (account, photo, posting, comment, like, etc) may no longer be visible, but it still lives on in FB's massive data repository.